Production Diary: Finalised Screenplay

First Draft:

Second/Final Draft:

Above is the first script for my short film. I realise that it may be too long, so I will aim to shorten it and cut out the unnecessary detail on cinematography. I will likely follow the steps regarding how I will film this (i.e shots, camera movements, etc.), but cut it out in the final draft to create a more concise, effective and clean script.

Second/Final Draft:

This is my second and final script draft. I stripped out all of the unneeded steps on cinematography and some actor prompts. I will not improvise on set, but rather follow the steps in the first draft where I feel it necessary and possibly make changes while filming if I feel that it will create a better end product. The reason that I only did two drafts was because I felt that the first one communicated my vision how I wanted, down to each shot. I also wanted, though, to have a more concise, to-the-point script that did not contain too many specific instructions as to how to make my film. The first draft, therefore, will serve as a sort of handbook on how to shoot my film, whereas the final draft communicates the narrative and flow of the story much better.

Conclusion:

For my script, I wanted to create a likeable protagonist that could get the audience to root for them in only a few minutes. I also wanted to briefly give them a backstory to develop them to the point that they felt like a fleshed out character. I also wanted to create believable chemistry between him and the love interest. I also wanted to get across how strong his like was for the love interest by emphasising how miserable the job was, so his choice to apply for it carried more meaning. I also decided to add a comedic moment in how the protagonist realised that they had time-travelled, to add a more light hearted nature to the film. My overall aim was to incorporate a sci-fi premise, time travel, in a romantic film to act as an interesting plot-device, which I think that I did successfully.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started