Production Dairy: Storyboarding Conventions

A script is the basis for what is said and done in your film. A storyboard is the graphic prompt for how that film is shot and presented. It is typically formatted as 6 rectangular boxes along a page, the shots organised in chronological order of the top to the right side of the page. There are also usually boxes beneath each shot to give information specific to the shot/box above it, such as audio cues, actions by actors, or what number the shot is. Arrows can also be included to direct actor or camera movements, which may be useful for crab or pan shots. Each storyboard shot needs to capture the shot’s subject, background, camera shot and camera movement. It will provide a basis for each specific shot that I will stick to as a manual, of sorts, while filming. It also provides a visual prediction of what your film will look like, and therefore, what sort issues It may have, allowing me to avoid them in advance.

They are made to help the author focus on each individual shot as they film, making the film more cohesive and fleshed out. I have created another storyboard for the other short film that i am preparing to make, as I created another screenplay for it. This will also serve as practice for the storyboard I will create for the coursework short film. After making this, I think that I will draw the portfolio, as it allows for me to be more specific with what shots will look like than taking pictures in advance. I can manipulate the environment more and get across what is most important in that shot, and plan on the exact framing instead of experimenting with different aspect ratios on set, so that I will have an exact template foe what my film will look like.

I have also created another storyboard for the other short film that i am preparing to make, as I created another screenplay for it. This will also serve as practice for the storyboard I will create for the coursework short film. After making this, I think that I will do this

Above is the storyboard that I made in preparation for my other short film and as practice for my coursework film. These shots are not exact, but, as they will do for the coursework, get across the overall visual style of the film.
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started